Patient Reviews

Reviews for Fayetteville, AR Optometrist Dr. Michael McFarland

Finding the right vision center and surgeon is a daunting task for many, with seemingly endless options. Vold Vision is the only ophthalmology-specific facility in Northwest Arkansas can provide the highest credentials from the Joint Commission. With other doctors and professionals across the world coming to ophthalmologist Dr. Steven Vold for training, his dedication and expertise are clear. Meeting with our staff is typically the best way to decide on a good match, but the words of former and current Vold Vision patients can also help you establish the quality of our work. Below, you can read the praises and successes of past patients to understand from the inside what a positive experience Vold Vision can provide for you.

Filter31 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 12, 2020

I had PRK Lasek done 3 weeks ago at Vold! Everyone has been super nice and friendly from the beginning. Dr. Mcfarland answered all my questions at my consultation and did an excellent job at explaining the process. It helped that he had PRK done as well. Christine was super helpful with the financial piece and was such a sweet resource for me. During my operation, I was super nervous and freaked out. I tend to make things seem much worse than they really are. Karen helped calm me down, made me laugh and was my cheerleader the entire procedure. Dr. Vold was so kind and talked me all the way through it. The procedure was super quick and painless. My recovery wasn’t quick but was gradual. I didn’t have any pain; however, there was some discomfort and light sensitivity in the first 3-5 days. I had headaches the first week after but after that it was much better. Use your prescribed eye drops, get plenty of rest... I took lots of naps the first couple of weeks... and put those preservative free eye drops in the fridge. You’ll thank me later! At my second post op appointment, I was having some haziness on my right eye. Dr. McFarland gave me some Lotemax ointment to put in my eyes at night before bed. That helped tremendously. By my 3rd post op appointment, my right eye had cleared up and had improved to 20/25 vision. My left eye had been 20/20 since the second appointment. PRK has a longer recovery but I feel like it has been worth it! Highly recommend Vold Vision for your eye needs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 09, 2020

I had the PRK procedure done a few days ago. In my consultation and pre op appointments, Dr. McFarland and his team were all very helpful and told me everything to expect. On the day of the procedure, John was wonderful in making me feel comfortable and telling me exactly what was happening. I was, understandably, quite anxious going into surgery. One of the nurses held my hand the whole time, and Dr. Vold kept telling me he was proud of me in between telling me exactly what he was doing to my eyes. The whole experience, while it was a bit overwhelming, was wonderful. The whole team here is so sweet and seems to genuinely care for each of their patients. I can’t say enough good things about my experience here, and I am so grateful for them taking the time to better my eyes! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 06, 2020

Dr. McFarland is awesome! Nicole is also the most caring, efficient assistant!❤️ More

5.0
DAPI
Review from F.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 23, 2019

Vold Vision deserves 5 stars for the following; Patient care is consistently above average. The doctors are prompt, courteous, and speak with me each and every time as a partner in determining the best medical options for myself. I never feel rushed. I feel safe and above all I feel informed. The staff is always pleasant and greets me with a smile. Their waiting room is extremely well appointed. Coffee, tea, water, plug ins for electronics, and tv. Not that I ever get to use these because they are always on time to take me back to see the doctor! The bathrooms, waiting areas and exams rooms are spotless. I am a fan of Vold Vision and I think you will be too! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 12, 2019

I received the SMILE flapless corrective laser surgery and have been mind-boggled that this is not the STANDARD for people with poor eyesight.I am BLOWN away with the results! After wearing glasses and contacts all my life and being sporty and working outdoors, I no longer worry about broken, sweaty or muddy glasses! no more dry contacts being fuzzy and uncomfortable!Dr. Vold and his staff performed the surgery in under 15 minutes. Dr. Hendricks and Dr. McFarland were excellent during the healing and post-OP visits always doing what was best for the patient! The tech John brightened my visits and the Vold Vision media wonderwoman, Christine, was the one who got me interested and aware of this as an option from the burden of corrective lenses!I FULLY recommend this surgery, the numerous facilities, and the highly attentive/intellectual team assembled by Dr. Vold More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 12, 2019

I received the SMILE flapless corrective laser surgery and have been mind-boggled that this is not the STANDARD for people with poor eyesight. I am BLOWN away with the results! After wearing glasses and contacts all my life and being sporty and working outdoors, I no longer worry about broken, sweaty or muddy glasses! no more dry contacts being fuzzy and uncomfortable! Dr. Vold and his staff performed the surgery in under 15 minutes. Dr. Hendricks and Dr. McFarland were excellent during the healing and post-OP visits always doing what was best for the patient! The tech John brightened my visits and the Vold Vision media wonderwoman, Christine, was the one who got me interested and aware of this as an option from the burden of corrective lenses! I FULLY recommend this surgery, the numerous facilities, and the highly attentive/intellectual team assembled by Dr. Vold. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Apr 12, 2019

Perfect vision in a not so perfect world. - I received the SMILE flapless corrective laser surgery and have been mind-boggled that this is not the STANDARD for people with poor eyesight.I am BLOWN away with the results! After wearing glasses and contacts all my life and being sporty and working outdoors, I no longer worry about broken, sweaty or muddy glasses! no more dry contacts being fuzzy and uncomfortable!Dr. Vold and his staff performed the surgery in under 15 minutes. Dr. Hendricks and Dr. McFarland were excellent during the healing and post-OP visits always doing what was best for the patient! The tech John brightened my visits and the Vold Vision media wonderwoman, Christine, was the one who got me interested and aware of this as an option from the burden of corrective lenses!I FULLY recommend this surgery, the numerous facilities, and the highly attentive/intellectual team assembled by Dr. Vold. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 28, 2019

The Vold Vision team is amazing. I had cataract surgery with the multifocal premium lenses. It is like a miracle. I can see up close and in the distance. No more glasses. Dr. Vold, Dr. Frankel, Dr. McFarland, the surgical nurses, the surgical staff, the office staff, the accounting staff as well as Jessica and Grant who hosted the luncheon with a doctor have all shown a commitment to doing business right and treating patients professionally. I highly recommend them. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 27, 2019

The Vold Vision team is amazing. I had cataract surgery with the multifocal premium lenses. It is like a miracle. I can see up close and in the distance. No more glasses. Dr. Vold, Dr. Frankel, Dr. McFarland, the surgical nurses, the surgical staff, the office staff, the accounting staff as well as Jessica and Grant who hosted the luncheon with a doctor have all shown a commitment to doing business right and treating patients professionally. I highly recommend them. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Feb 27, 2019

Highly recommend - The Vold Vision team is amazing. I had cataract surgery with the multifocal premium lenses. It is like a miracle. I can see up close and in the distance. No more glasses. Dr. Vold, Dr. Frankel, Dr. McFarland, the surgical nurses, the surgical staff, the office staff, the accounting staff as well as Jessica and Grant who hosted the luncheon with a doctor have all shown a commitment to doing business right and treating patients professionally. I highly recommend them. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.T.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 02, 2018

All I can do is SmILE!!! Best decision I’ve made in a long time, thank you Dr McFarland and Dr. Vold!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.W.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 27, 2018

Probably the biggest and best life changing thing I have ever done, #SmileByVold! Dr. McFarland knew exactly what to do to clear up my dry eyes before surgery. Dr. Vold was so nice and cheerful throughout the whole procedure! Nicole, Janice, Lauren and Christine were all so sweet and excited for this life changing moment, they celebrated with me and also helped to calm my nerves. Vold Vision went above and beyond and I will forever be grateful! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Oct 21, 2018

Knowledgeable, caring and thorough - One of the best eye dr’s I have ever been to. He takes his time and explains everything. Very knowledgeable and caring. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 06, 2018

Here I am, one day post-LASIK and I literally am in disbelief at how well I can see! Part of me keeps thinking that I have my contacts in. I have to keep reminding myself that I don’t. I have nothing but glowing reviews of the entire team at Vold Vision. From the minute I first called for information I have been given the highest caliber of service, care, and compassion. It is evident that Dr. Vold and his entire team believe in the power of their work. They took extra tim...e to check and recheck to make sure that all of my measurements were exact. They have the very latest in technology to offer. The procedure itself was quick and painless and my results were almost immediate. After a good night’s sleep I woke up and I could see my sweet babies’ faces in total clarity. What a miracle! To Dr. Vold and everyone at Vold Vision, (Christine, Dr. McFarlane, and all the techs who talked me through my nervousness) thank you from the bottom of my heart! This a game changer. A LIFE changer!! #lasikbyvold More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.J.  |  Source: Google  |  May 04, 2018

Very helpful staff's. Easy to communicate and friendly. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 24, 2018

I wish I would have done this 10 years ago. I was eligible for the SMILE procedure, and my vision has never been so perfect. I can’t thank the TEAM at VOLD vision enough. Dr. Vold did a perfect job, Dr. McFarland is so helpful, and Christine does such a great job of making you feel comfortable and right at home! The whole staff at Vold Vision is great. This place is second to none in all aspects!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 24, 2018

I wish I would have done this 10 years ago. I was eligible for the SMILE procedure, and my vision has never been so perfect. I can’t thank the TEAM at VOLD vision enough. Dr. Vold did a perfect job, Dr. McFarland is so helpful, and Christine does such a great job of making you feel comfortable and right at home! The whole staff at Vold Vision is great. This place is second to none in all aspects!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.B.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 18, 2018

I met with Dr. McFarland and was very impressed by his professionalism and thorough explanation during the consultation. His priority was giving me all of the information I needed to make an informed decision that was right for me even when that meant less immediate profit for their office. Last week I met with a different clinic. The OD at that clinic never spoke with me and his or her assistant failed to recognize the importance of the information that Dr. McFarland provided to my decision. Thank you to Vold Vision and Dr. McFarland for taking the time. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.G.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 13, 2018

I have worn contacts/glasses since I was 11 years old and now going on 31 I was just sick and tired of dry contacts and wasting money on a none lasting solution. Just did my surgery yesterday I went with the SMILE procedure. I couldn’t be anymore happier! Today I actually see really good for being one day post op. Not much dryness or feel bothersome or light sensitivity. They mentioned SMILE takes a little longer of recovery but I feel just fine !. I not only want to thank Dr.... Vold who made me feel very reassured everything was going great also the staff in the room all very supportive! Great team ! Also I would like to thanks Dr. McFarland and Christine who also reassured me many times that everything will be fine and it was ! Both Doctors were very professional and very nice as for the same to it’s staff even just the checkin and checkout / schedulers. Thank you so much for this life change experience. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 22, 2018

A little over a year ago I had LASIK performed on both of my eyes and I can honestly say it's been one of the best decisions of my life. My vision was pretty bad, -4.5 in both eyes, plus around a -2 to -3 in astigmatism, so I either had thick glasses or thick contacts, which meant I had to deal with a ton of allergy and dryness problems. After having LASIK done, I now see 20/20 in both eyes. The staff was very friendly, easy to work with, and I never had to wait too long. Dr. McFarland explained everything in great detail and made the decision easy. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 19, 2018

I just got a "Smile" procedure done here which is a variation of lasik. I had absolutely terrible vision with -8.0 contacts and glasses as thick as a mixing bowl. The consultation and pre- op went fairly fast and the staff was always super nice and helpful. On procedure day they walked me through everything that would happen, and the people talking to you have actually had lasik done so their not blowing smoke. Dr. Vold is very encouraging during surgery and Dr. Cox as well as Dr. McFarland were very clear and thorough with the examinations of my eyes pre and post surgery. Great staff. Would highly recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.V.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 28, 2017

I have been putting lasik off for over 10 yrs and finally decided to get it done. I went to my consult appt on a Tuesday and met with Christine and dr McFarland for my pre surgery appt that following Thursday And my lasik done that following Tuesday. Great team! Christine made me feel at ease and held my hand through it all from the first appt to the day of surgery. I would do it again in a heartbeat! My eyes are seeing 20/15 and I have never seen high definition through my eyes since I was 9 yrs old when I had to start wearing glasses. It feels great to be able to wake up and not having to reach for my glasses and to be able to wear and buy sunglasses without prescriptions. My husband is getting his lasik next month and I can't wait for him to experience what I have experienced with vold!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.V.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 28, 2017

I have been putting lasik off for over 10 yrs and finally decided to get it done. I went to my consult appt on a Tuesday and met with Christine and dr McFarland for my pre surgery appt that following Thursday And my lasik done that following Tuesday. Great team! Christine made me feel at ease and held my hand through it all from the first appt to the day of surgery. I would do it again in a heartbeat! My eyes are seeing 20/15 and I have never seen high definition through my eyes since I was 9 yrs old when I had to start wearing glasses. It feels great to be able to wake up and not having to reach for my glasses and to be able to wear and buy sunglasses without prescriptions. My husband is getting his lasik next month and I can't wait for him to experience what I have experienced with vold!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 14, 2017

I have always had great service here. Dr. McFarland is very knowledgeable - he helped me look into laser vision correction options and actually advised that I keep wearing contacts for my prescription. I appreciated the honesty! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 04, 2016

This office is fantastic. Both myself and my husband had LASIK done the same day; and not one moment went by when we didn't feel that they took a personal interest in helping us see better. Specifically, Dr Vold, Dr McFarland, Nicole, and Christine. The team at Vold Vision has given us a gift that we can never repay. Thank you, from the bottom of our hearts. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: UCompareHealthcare  |  Oct 04, 2016

This office is fantastic. Both myself and my husband had LASIK done the same day; and not one moment went by when we didn't feel that they took a personal interest in helping us see better. Specifically, Dr Vold, Dr McFarland, Nicole, and Christine. From our first contact, Christine was forthcoming with information yet not pushy or demanding (as we've seen from other offices). She freely shared her personal experience during the after hours event and I admire that. We did not have a lot of interaction with Dr Vold; however, we know our sight is a direct reflection of his skill and passion to help others. Dr McFarland was very friendly and patient with our questions and always informative, going above and beyond with his answers insuring we understood. Clearly an expert in his field and I'm thankful he was a part of our care. Nicole was my life saver. She was beyond caring and made us feel completely welcome, as if we were old friends. She was one who held my hand during the experience and talked me through my overwhelming anxiety. I will always be grateful for having been in her care. I've always heard: "The brightest stars are those that shine for the benefit of others." I believe each of them shine in their own way. The team at Vold Vision has given us a gift that we can never repay. Thank you, from the bottom of our hearts. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 04, 2016

This office is fantastic. Both myself and my husband had LASIK done the same day; and not one moment went by when we didn't feel that they took a personal interest in helping us see better. Specifically, Dr Vold, Dr McFarland, Nicole, and Christine. From our first contact, Christine was forthcoming with information yet not pushy or demanding (as we've seen from other offices). She freely shared her personal experience during the after hours event and I admire that. We did not have a lot of interaction with Dr Vold; however, we know our sight is a direct reflection of his skill and passion to help others. Dr McFarland was very friendly and patient with our questions and always informative, going above and beyond with his answers insuring we understood. Clearly an expert in his field and I'm thankful he was a part of our care. Nicole was my life saver. She was beyond caring and made us feel completely welcome, as if we were old friends. She was one who held my hand during the experience and talked me through my overwhelming anxiety. I will always be grateful for having been in her care. I've always heard: "The brightest stars are those that shine for the benefit of others."  I believe each of them shine in their own way. The team at Vold Vision has given us a gift that we can never repay. Thank you, from the bottom of our hearts. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 20, 2016

My husband received lasek here 18 months ago and I just did it last Thursday. At a week out I felt like I had swapped out old eyes for brand new ones! Where you go really matters. I was never one who would consider this type of procedure because of nervousness and I definitely wouldn't have trusted anyone else but our Vold Vision family with my vision! The doctors Vold and McFarland, Christine, the nurses, and the front desk staff are all the best. Knowledgable, Personable, friendly, and will help anyway they can! As someone who has worn glasses since I was 9, almost 20 years I am so grateful to have made this decision! Thank you guys! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 20, 2016

My husband, myself, my mother and grown daughter had back-to-back appointments. Our experience with Vold Vision was exceptional. Wait time was not long. The staff and Dr. McFarland were friendly and prompt. I have recommended Vold Vision to other family members already! Thank-you. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jan 26, 2015

LASEK A++ - Vold Vision A++!I have been a patient at Vold Vision for one year. I was first introduced to Vold Vision when I suffered a severely scratched eye. Dr. McFarland diagnosed the injury immediately and I was fully healed in a couple days. About 8 months later, I decided to have LASEK done. I knew immediately the doctor I planned to use, Vold Vision. I had total faith in their ability, service and dedication to my procedure. The doctor and staff were 100% accurate on explaining the operation, what to expect and the healing process. All I did was follow their guidance, which was simple, take vitamins and follow the eye drops schedule. I am seeing 20/15 and my eyes continue to get better each day. If you are considering LASEK, I highly recommend attending the after hours event, you get to watch a live procedure and talk to Dr. Vold about the LASEK proedure. So, if you want to get rid of glasses and contacts, call Vold Vision! I could not be happier! I am amazed at the outcome! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 20, 2014

We experienced kindness from the staff and exemplary customer service. The Lasik surgery was emotional for me because I've always had such terrible eye sight that I'd never been able to wake up and SEE. Dr. Vold is literally the best in the nation. He and Dr. McFarland are experts in their field and will give you the best care. My surgery was in February and we are still talking about how impressed we were by Vold Vision! More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.