Patient Reviews

Reviews for Fayetteville, AR Optometrist Dr. Michael McFarland

Finding the right vision center and surgeon is a daunting task for many, with seemingly endless options. Vold Vision is the only ophthalmology-specific facility in Northwest Arkansas can provide the highest credentials from the Joint Commission. With other doctors and professionals across the world coming to ophthalmologist Dr. Steven Vold for training, his dedication and expertise are clear. Meeting with our staff is typically the best way to decide on a good match, but the words of former and current Vold Vision patients can also help you establish the quality of our work. Below, you can read the praises and successes of past patients to understand from the inside what a positive experience Vold Vision can provide for you.

Filter30 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from B.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 05, 2021

Absolutely amazing experience. We all have our triggers that make us anxious. Mine is my eyes. Talk about them and they start watering. The kindness, professionalism, laughter and empathy I received from John, Karen and Dr McFarland made me wish I had done the Lasik procedure much sooner. In my mind, top notch with no equals. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 02, 2021

Yesterday afternoon I had Lasik done and I couldn’t be happier! The Doctors and Staff are great, nice, helpful and informative. They answered all the questions I had and walked me through the whole procedure from the consultation to my post op appointment. Waking up today and not worrying about doing anything to my eyes to be able to see was the best feeling ever. Thank you so much Dr. Vold, Dr. McFarland, Jennifer and John and all the staff, I will for ever be grateful and this has chance my life for the better! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 07, 2020

Dr. McFarland did amazing job walking through what was to be expected for my SMILE surgery. And Dr. Vold made the procedure seem like a breeze. All of the staff was welcoming and provided amazing patient care when answering all of my questions. I am so excited to walk into 2021 with perfect vision and say goodbye to glasses. Thanks Vold Vision and I would highly recommend your services to anyone in the future. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 19, 2020

For the first time in 23 years I woke up able to see without doing anything to my eyes. Yesterday afternoon I had Lasix at Vold Vision and I couldn’t be more amazed by the results so far. All of the staff, Dr. McFarland, Dr. Vold, The nurses, and John have been so great. I will be forever thankful. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 19, 2020

Vold Vision staff are super friendly and knowledgeable! They make you feel as comfortable as possible with your decision of eye surgery! Dr. McFarland and staff did an incredible job on my eye surgery. I can now see clearly without the need of glasses or contacts! Highly recommend this place for anyone who is thinking about getting corrective eye surgery! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.E.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 13, 2020

Dr. Vold and his staff, Dr. Holden, Dr. McFarland, Dr. Moser, and John were all great! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 12, 2020

I had PRK Lasek done 3 weeks ago at Vold! Everyone has been super nice and friendly from the beginning. Dr. Mcfarland answered all my questions at my consultation and did an excellent job at explaining the process. It helped that he had PRK done as well. Christine was super helpful with the financial piece and was such a sweet resource for me. During my operation, I was super nervous and freaked out. I tend to make things seem much worse than they really are. Karen helped calm me down, made me laugh and was my cheerleader the entire procedure. Dr. Vold was so kind and talked me all the way through it. The procedure was super quick and painless. My recovery wasn’t quick but was gradual. I didn’t have any pain; however, there was some discomfort and light sensitivity in the first 3-5 days. I had headaches the first week after but after that it was much better. Use your prescribed eye drops, get plenty of rest... I took lots of naps the first couple of weeks... and put those preservative free eye drops in the fridge. You’ll thank me later! At my second post op appointment, I was having some haziness on my right eye. Dr. McFarland gave me some Lotemax ointment to put in my eyes at night before bed. That helped tremendously. By my 3rd post op appointment, my right eye had cleared up and had improved to 20/25 vision. My left eye had been 20/20 since the second appointment. PRK has a longer recovery but I feel like it has been worth it! Highly recommend Vold Vision for your eye needs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 12, 2020

I had PRK Lasek done 3 weeks ago at Vold! Everyone has been super nice and friendly from the beginning. Dr. Mcfarland answered all my questions at my consultation and did an excellent job at explaining the process. It helped that he had PRK done as well. Christine was super helpful with the financial piece and was such a sweet resource for me. During my operation, I was super nervous and freaked out. I tend to make things seem much worse than they really are. Karen helped calm me down, made me laugh and was my cheerleader the entire procedure. Dr. Vold was so kind and talked me all the way through it. The procedure was super quick and painless. My recovery wasn’t quick but was gradual. I didn’t have any pain; however, there was some discomfort and light sensitivity in the first 3-5 days. I had headaches the first week after but after that it was much better. Use your prescribed eye drops, get plenty of rest... I took lots of naps the first couple of weeks... and put those preservative free eye drops in the fridge. You’ll thank me later! At my second post op appointment, I was having some haziness on my right eye. Dr. McFarland gave me some Lotemax ointment to put in my eyes at night before bed. That helped tremendously. By my 3rd post op appointment, my right eye had cleared up and had improved to 20/25 vision. My left eye had been 20/20 since the second appointment. PRK has a longer recovery but I feel like it has been worth it! Highly recommend Vold Vision for your eye needs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 12, 2020

I had the PRK procedure done a few days ago. In my consultation and pre op appointments, Dr. McFarland and his team were all very helpful and told me everything to expect. On the day of the procedure, John was wonderful in making me feel comfortable and telling me exactly what was happening. I was, understandably, quite anxious going into surgery. One of the nurses held my hand the whole time, and Dr. Vold kept telling me he was proud of me in between telling me exactly what he was doing to my eyes. The whole experience, while it was a bit overwhelming, was wonderful. The whole team here is so sweet and seems to genuinely care for each of their patients. I can’t say enough good things about my experience here, and I am so grateful for them taking the time to better my eyes! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 09, 2020

I had the PRK procedure done a few days ago. In my consultation and pre op appointments, Dr. McFarland and his team were all very helpful and told me everything to expect. On the day of the procedure, John was wonderful in making me feel comfortable and telling me exactly what was happening. I was, understandably, quite anxious going into surgery. One of the nurses held my hand the whole time, and Dr. Vold kept telling me he was proud of me in between telling me exactly what he was doing to my eyes. The whole experience, while it was a bit overwhelming, was wonderful. The whole team here is so sweet and seems to genuinely care for each of their patients. I can’t say enough good things about my experience here, and I am so grateful for them taking the time to better my eyes! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 29, 2020

I rarely leave reviews but today’s experience left me no choice. I’ve had inexplicable eye pressure changes since spring of last year but decided to switch from Boozman-Hof to Vold Vision due the great experience I had with Dr. McFarland and Dr. Tanaka. Dr. Tanaka instructed me to come into clinic for eye pressure checks anytime I felt a pain (in the hopes of catching when my eye pressure is high since it’s spiked before) and told the front desk the same instructions with no need of appointment. However, today, I could clearly hear a lady complaining about me since this was my second time for a check and was very rude during the exam. Very disappointed. And I was the only person there so it wasn’t like they were busy. Edit: thank you, Jessica, for taking the time to reach out and apologize on behalf of the person in question. Glad that it’s been addressed and I really appreciate you listening to my concerns. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 03, 2020

I rarely leave reviews but today’s experience left me no choice. I’ve had inexplicable eye pressure changes since spring of last year but decided to switch from Boozman-Hof to Vold Vision due the great experience I had with Dr. McFarland and Dr. Tanaka. Dr. Tanaka instructed me to come into clinic for eye pressure checks anytime I felt a pain (in the hopes of catching when my eye pressure is high since it’s spiked before) and told the front desk the same instructions with no need of appointment. However, today, I could clearly hear a lady complaining about me since this was my second time for a check and was very rude during the exam. Very disappointed. And I was the only person there so it wasn’t like they were busy. Edit: thank you, Jessica, for taking the time to reach out and apologize on behalf of the person in question. Glad that it’s been addressed and I really appreciate you listening to my concerns. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 01, 2020

I rarely leave reviews but today’s experience left me no choice. I’ve had inexplicable eye pressure changes since spring of last year but decided to switch from Boozman-Hof to Vold Vision due the great experience I had with Dr. McFarland and Dr. Tanaka. Dr. Tanaka instructed me to come into clinic for eye pressure checks anytime I felt a pain (in the hopes of catching when my eye pressure is high since it’s spiked before) and told the front desk the same instructions with no need of appointment. However, today, I could clearly hear a lady complaining about me since this was my second time for a check and was very rude during the exam. Very disappointed. And I was the only person there so it wasn’t like they were busy.Edit: thank you, Jessica, for taking the time to reach out and apologize on behalf of the person in question. Glad that it’s been addressed and I really appreciate you listening to my concerns. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 03, 2020

I had glaucoma surgery by Dr Vold through a research study and Dr McFarland, Ken and William are all wonderful. The entire experience was excellent. From the front desk to the clinical staff and surgical team. Everyone was so great and friendly. I cannot say enough about the techs. They all work so hard and do such a great job! Karen, Presley, Nikki and Sidney are the best! Deanne and Grant are wonderful surgical coordinators. They did a fast and effective job at getting my surgeries scheduled without incident! Rick in optical was very helpful when I needed sunglasses after my second surgery and made sure I got exactly what I needed. I would highly recommend Vold Vision to anyone! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 03, 2020

Thank you #LASIKbyVOLD @VoldVision for my eyesight! Dr. McFarland, Nicole and the staff took great care of me! Highly recommend! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 28, 2019

The best team I have ever meet! I had LASIK a little over a month ago I was lucky super lucky to win on one of the events and it changed my life completely for the better. My prescription before was -2.75 on the right eye and -3.25 on the left eye. Right after the surgery I changed to 20/20. Now I feel safer driving at night, I don’t have to worry about finding my glasses right after I wake up, I’m able to do so many things that I wasn’t able to do comfortably before. I can’t thank enough Vold Vision Dr. Vold, Dr McFarland and the whole team are supper professional and friendly, everyone make you feel welcome all the time! Thank you so much, your generosity carries over for the rest of your patients life! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from M.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 28, 2019

It took a few trips to figure out what is going on with my eye after Lasiks, but Dr. McFarland never gave up. I have been in that office probably 20 times since May 2018. The staff is Out Of This World!! I do not know what Dr. Vold does, but I would love to find out how he keeps so many happy and efficient. Special shout-out to Nicole, she makes me laugh and feel special every time!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 18, 2019

All my experiences have been very positive at Vold Vision. I am especially pleased with Nicole the COA in Dr. McFarland’s office. She always greets you with a kind smile and a reassuring word. Nicole is always very kind and thorough when assisting the doctor and answers questions that may result during the visit. I highly recommend Vold Vision and Nicole does a super job as a COA making my visit a great experience. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from M.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 15, 2019

It took a few trips to figure out what is going on with my eye after Lasiks, but Dr. McFarland never gave up.I have been in that office probably 20 times since May 2018. The staff is Out Of This World!! I do not know what Dr. Vold does, but I would love to find out how he keeps so many happy and efficient. Special shout-out to Nicole, she makes me laugh and feel special every time!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 14, 2019

The best team I have ever meet! I had LASIK a little over a month ago I was lucky super lucky to win on one of the events and it changed my life completely for the better. My prescription before was -2.75 on the right eye and -3.25 on the left eye. Right after the surgery I changed to 20/20. Now I feel safer driving at night, I don’t have to worry about finding my glasses right after I wake up, I’m able to do so many things that I wasn’t able to do comfortably before. I can’t thank enough Vold Vision Dr. Vold, Dr McFarland and the whole team are supper professional and friendly, everyone make you feel welcome all the time! Thank you so much, your generosity carries over for the rest of your patients life! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 03, 2019

I received the SMILE flapless corrective laser surgery and have been mind-boggled that this is not the STANDARD for people with poor eyesight. I am BLOWN away with the results! After wearing glasses and contacts all my life and being sporty and working outdoors, I no longer worry about broken, sweaty or muddy glasses! no more dry contacts being fuzzy and uncomfortable! Dr. Vold and his staff performed the surgery in under 15 minutes. Dr. Hendricks and Dr. McFarland were excellent during the healing and post-OP visits always doing what was best for the patient! The tech John brightened my visits and the Vold Vision media wonderwoman, Christine, was the one who got me interested and aware of this as an option from the burden of corrective lenses! I FULLY recommend this surgery, the numerous facilities, and the highly attentive/intellectual team assembled by Dr. Vold More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 28, 2019

I received the SMILE flapless corrective laser surgery and have been mind-boggled that this is not the STANDARD for people with poor eyesight. I am BLOWN away with the results! After wearing glasses and contacts all my life and being sporty and working outdoors, I no longer worry about broken, sweaty or muddy glasses! no more dry contacts being fuzzy and uncomfortable! Dr. Vold and his staff performed the surgery in under 15 minutes. Dr. Hendricks and Dr. McFarland were excellent during the healing and post-OP visits always doing what was best for the patient! The tech John brightened my visits and the Vold Vision media wonderwoman, Christine, was the one who got me interested and aware of this as an option from the burden of corrective lenses! I FULLY recommend this surgery, the numerous facilities, and the highly attentive/intellectual team assembled by Dr. Vold More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 12, 2019

I received the SMILE flapless corrective laser surgery and have been mind-boggled that this is not the STANDARD for people with poor eyesight.I am BLOWN away with the results! After wearing glasses and contacts all my life and being sporty and working outdoors, I no longer worry about broken, sweaty or muddy glasses! no more dry contacts being fuzzy and uncomfortable!Dr. Vold and his staff performed the surgery in under 15 minutes. Dr. Hendricks and Dr. McFarland were excellent during the healing and post-OP visits always doing what was best for the patient! The tech John brightened my visits and the Vold Vision media wonderwoman, Christine, was the one who got me interested and aware of this as an option from the burden of corrective lenses!I FULLY recommend this surgery, the numerous facilities, and the highly attentive/intellectual team assembled by Dr. Vold More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 28, 2019

The Vold Vision team is amazing. I had cataract surgery with the multifocal premium lenses. It is like a miracle. I can see up close and in the distance. No more glasses. Dr. Vold, Dr. Frankel, Dr. McFarland, the surgical nurses, the surgical staff, the office staff, the accounting staff as well as Jessica and Grant who hosted the luncheon with a doctor have all shown a commitment to doing business right and treating patients professionally. I highly recommend them. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.J.  |  Source: Google  |  May 04, 2018

Very helpful staff's. Easy to communicate and friendly. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 22, 2018

A little over a year ago I had LASIK performed on both of my eyes and I can honestly say it's been one of the best decisions of my life. My vision was pretty bad, -4.5 in both eyes, plus around a -2 to -3 in astigmatism, so I either had thick glasses or thick contacts, which meant I had to deal with a ton of allergy and dryness problems. After having LASIK done, I now see 20/20 in both eyes. The staff was very friendly, easy to work with, and I never had to wait too long. Dr. McFarland explained everything in great detail and made the decision easy. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 20, 2016

My husband received lasek here 18 months ago and I just did it last Thursday. At a week out I felt like I had swapped out old eyes for brand new ones! Where you go really matters. I was never one who would consider this type of procedure because of nervousness and I definitely wouldn't have trusted anyone else but our Vold Vision family with my vision! The doctors Vold and McFarland, Christine, the nurses, and the front desk staff are all the best. Knowledgable, Personable, friendly, and will help anyway they can! As someone who has worn glasses since I was 9, almost 20 years I am so grateful to have made this decision! Thank you guys! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 20, 2016

My husband, myself, my mother and grown daughter had back-to-back appointments. Our experience with Vold Vision was exceptional. Wait time was not long. The staff and Dr. McFarland were friendly and prompt. I have recommended Vold Vision to other family members already! Thank-you. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 20, 2015

Thank you Dr. Vold and everybody at Vold Vision. I typically don't do the whole Dr. thing but when I saw how easy the initial scan was, I figured I could do this. I've been wearing glasses since I was in the 3rd grade, I wore contacts through parts of High School and College, but they were not working as well for me now that I was in my 40's. I am an avid motorcycle rider and having to wear sunglasses over my glasses not my idea of comfortable. Dr. Mcfarland and Dr. Vold are definitely at the top of their field. The initial eye exam was as thorough as any I had previously had. The actual procedure was quick and easier than I thought it would be. The first week after surgery was a bit of a challenge, but the staff was very helpful and helped me see how my vision was progressing. I now enjoy, swimming, riding my motorcycle and wearing "normal" sunglasses. I still look at my alarm clock every morning when I wake up amazed that I can see it. I still try to take my glasses off when I get in the shower. I should have done this 5 years ago. Again, thank you very much Dr. Vold and everyone at Vold Vision. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 20, 2014

We experienced kindness from the staff and exemplary customer service. The Lasik surgery was emotional for me because I've always had such terrible eye sight that I'd never been able to wake up and SEE. Dr. Vold is literally the best in the nation. He and Dr. McFarland are experts in their field and will give you the best care. My surgery was in February and we are still talking about how impressed we were by Vold Vision! More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.